Modern Warfare Wins Esports Game of the Year

Video games have become a primary form of entertainment, with properties like GTA & Call of Duty earning billions yearly from a popularity standpoint. Governing associations of the industry provide development studios with awards for their recent releases, meaning yearly franchises are regular winners. This was proven again with the 2020 Golden Joystick Awards, which awarded Call of Duty: Modern Warfare with best esports game for this year. It’s a prominent acolyte for the shooter franchise, which hasn’t acquired this award for thirteen years. What this proves for Activision is that Call of Duty has returned to a reputable level, which hasn’t been sustained since MW2.

Infinity Ward is the developers behind Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, with Activision publishing this distribution game. Activision had determined that modern-day settings for Call of Duty weren’t required any longer, prompting development houses working for this franchise to create futuristic & historical entries into COD. It wouldn’t be until 2019 that Call of Duty returned to the modern setting, which proved the right decision. Modern Warfare has become a top-rated game & has maintained more than one billion purchases since launching last year.

Continued Content for MW2019

November 29th would see Infinity Ward announced that Call of Duty: Modern Warfare would continue receiving content throughout 2020. It’ll mark the first time in franchise existence that two Call of Duty’s is receiving content updates simultaneously. Activision isn’t concerned about Modern Warfare & Cold War (2020s Call of Duty) battling each other, with the games being tonally different from each other.

It’s expected that Modern Warfare will sustain a broader community of players, with Cold War becoming more a classic iteration of Call of Duty. Individuals wanting to try either of these games are recommended to experience Cold War, with that Treyarch-developed title sustaining a traditional feel for COD.

Multiple games competed against Call of Duty: Modern Warfare for the acquisition of “Best Esports Game of 2019”. Those games included:

  • Valorant.
  • Rainbow Six Siege.
  • Fortnite.
  • Call of Duty: Modern Warfare.
  • Counterstrike: Global Offensive.